MINUTES OF COMMISSIONERS COURT MEETING

I.

Attached hereto is/are public notice(s) posted for the meeting of August 20, 2020.

II.

The minutes of the Special Meeting of Fayette County, Texas, Commissioners Court held in the District Court Courtroom (2nd floor) at the Fayette County Courthouse located at 151 North Washington Street, La Grange, Texas.

III.

Attendance: County Judge Joe Weber Present

County Commissioner – Precinct No. 1, Jason McBroom **Present**

County Commissioner – Precinct No. 2, Luke Sternadel Present

County Commissioner – Precinct No. 3, Harvey Berckenhoff Present

County Commissioner – Precinct No. 4, Tom Muras **Present**

IV.

County Officials/County Personnel present during all or any part of the meeting: Brenda Fietsam, County Clerk; Cassie Austin, Court Administrator; Kathy Kleiber, Auditor; Cindy Havelka, First Assistant Auditor

V.

Persons in attendance during all of any part of the meeting: "See attached Exhibit A".

VI.

Meeting opened at **1:48 p.m.**. on motion by Commissioner **Berckenhoff**, seconded by Commissioner **McBroom**, votes for **5**, votes against **0**.

VII.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE TO THE AMERICAN FLAG PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE TO THE TEXAS FLAG

"Honor the Texas Flag; I pledge allegiance to thee, Texas, one state under God, one and indivisible."

INVOCATION

AGENDA ACTION:

1. SUBJECT: Approve the adoption of, and setting by written Order, the Debt Service Tax Rate of \$0.0068/\$100 for Tax Year 2020.

ACTION: Approved the adoption of, and set by written Order, the Debt Service Tax Rate of \$0.0068/\$100 for Tax Year 2020.

PERSONS APPEARING BEFORE THE COURT: Kathy Kleiber, Auditor

MOVED BY COMMR. McBroom , SECONDED BY COMMR. Sternadel.
Commr. McBroom, vote for X , vote against
Commr. Sternadel, vote for X , vote against
Commr. Berckenhoff, vote for X , vote against
Commr. Muras, vote for X , vote against
Judge Weber, vote for X , vote against

2. SUBJECT: Approve the adoption of, and setting by written Order, the Maintenance and Operations Tax Rate of \$0.4572/\$100 for Tax Year 2020.

ACTION: Approved the adoption of, and set by written Order, the Maintenance and Operations Tax Rate of \$0.4572/\$100 for Tax Year 2020.

PERSONS APPEARING BEFORE THE COURT: Kathy Kleiber, Auditor

MOVED BY COMMR. Berckenhoff , SECONDED BY COMMR. Sternade
Commr. McBroom, vote for X , vote against
Commr. Sternadel, vote for X , vote against
Commr. Berckenhoff, vote for X , vote against
Commr. Muras, vote for X , vote against
Judge Weber, vote for X , vote against

3. SUBJECT: Consider and take appropriate action on a motion that the Property Tax Rate be increased by the adoption of a Tax Rate of \$0.4640/\$100 for Tax Year 2020, which is effectively a 1.7 percent increase in the Tax Rate, and that an Order be adopted and signed, setting the Tax Rate of \$0.4640/\$100 for Tax Year 2020, with the revenue attributable to the tax rate increase being for the purpose of public safety, Courthouse Security, a reasonable contingency fund, and a reserve.

ACTION: Approved that the Property Tax Rate be increased by the adoption of a Tax Rate of \$0.4640/\$100 of taxable value for Tax Year 2020, which is effectively a 1.7 percent increase in the Tax Rate, and Adopted and Signed an Order setting the Tax Rate of \$0.4640 for Tax Year 2020, with the purpose the increase being to provide funds for public safety, Courthouse Security, a reasonable contingency fund, and a reserve.

PERSONS APPEARING BEFORE THE COURT:

MOVED BY COMMR. McBroom , SECONDED BY COMMR. Muras ,
Commr. McBroom, vote for X , vote against
Commr. Sternadel, vote for X , vote against
Commr. Berckenhoff, vote for X , vote against
Commr. Muras, vote for X , vote against
Judge Weber, vote for X, vote against

VIII.

Meeting adjourned at 2:00 p.m.., August 20, 2020, on motion by Commissioner McBroom, seconded by Commissioner Sternadel, votes for 5, votes against 0.

APPROVED this 27th day of August, 2020.

Joseph Weber	
Fayette County Judge	
Jason McBroom	
Commissioner, Precinct 1	
Luke Sternadel	
Commissioner, Precinct 2	
Harvey Berckenhoff	
Commissioner, Precinct 3	
Tom Muras	
Commissioner, Precinct 4	
ATTEST:	
Brenda Fietsam	
County Clerk	